Sign In
Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Untitled 2
Untitled 2
Untitled 2
Untitled 2

History of the College

1899: LSU organizes a four-year course in commerce leading to a bachelor’s degree.
1908: The University changes from fixed four-year courses to organization into colleges. Due to limited funding, a College of Commerce was prevented and the course in commerce was merged with the College of Arts & Sciences.
June 11, 1928: College of Commerce established by University Board of Supervisors at its annual meeting. It was agreed that the college would be housed in Himes Hall with J.B. Trant presiding as the first dean.
1931: College receives accreditation from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB).
1935: The University begins to offer the Master of Business Administration (MBA)
1957: William D. Ross named second dean.
1959: College reorganized and renamed College of Business Administration.
1962: LSU Executive Education established.
1977: Donald L. Woodland named third dean.
1978: College moves into the Center for Engineering and Business Administration (CEBA).
1984: James A. Richardson named acting dean.
1984: Public Administration Institute established.
1985: James B. Henry named fourth dean.
1985: Center for Internal Auditing established.
1985: Real Estate Research Institute established.
1988: Louisiana Business & Technology Center established.
1995: John L. Glascock named interim dean.
1996: Thomas D. Clark Jr. named fifth dean.
1996: College renamed in honor of benefactor E. J. Ourso as the E. J. Ourso College of Business Administration.
1996: MBA Program renamed in honor of James C. and Cherie H. Flores. It is to be referred to as the Flores MBA Program.
1996: Department of Management renamed in honor of William W. and Catherine M. Rucks IV. It is to be referred to as the Rucks Department of Management.
1996: Hall of Distinction established to recognize the accomplishments of individuals who have a strong association with the college of business and have distinguished themselves through their personal and civic achievements.
1996: College reaccredited by AACSB.
1997: The Louisiana Institute for Entrepreneurial Education and Family Business Studies is established.
2002: William R. Lane named interim dean.
2002: Securities Markets Analysis Research Trading (SMART) Lab established
April 2003: The Louisiana Institute for Entrepreneurial Education and Family Business Studies renamed the Entrepreneurship Institute.
July 1, 2003: Robert T. Sumichrast begins tenure as sixth dean.
2005: College name shortened to E. J. Ourso College of Business.
December 18, 2005: E. J. Ourso, the college’s namesake, passes away at the age of 82.
April 23, 2006: College reaccredited by AACSB.
February 23, 2007: The Stephenson Disaster Management Institute is established.
May 16, 2007: The Entrepreneurship Institute is renamed in honor of Emmet and Toni Stephenson. It is to be referred to as the Stephenson Entrepreneurship Institute.
July 1, 2007: William R. Lane named interim dean.
July 13, 2007: LSU Board of Supervisors approves renaming of CEBA to honor Patrick F. Taylor.
September 8, 2007: CEBA officially rededicated as Patrick F. Taylor Hall.
July 1, 2008: Eli Jones begins tenure as seventh dean.
March 19, 2010: Groundbreaking Ceremony for Business Education Complex held. Among special guests in attendance were Governor Bobby Jindal.
June 2, 2010: LSU Stephenson Disaster Management Institute partners with Louisiana Economic Development, the Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness and the University of Louisiana at Lafayette’s National Incident Management Systems and Advanced Technologies Institute to open the Louisiana Business Emergency Operations Center.
November 5, 2010:  Topping Out ceremony was held to commemorate the placement of the final steel beam on the Business Education Complex.
April 8, 2011: Inaugural LSU One Hundred Luncheon Held
March 2, 2012 – Ribbon-cutting ceremony held for the Business Education Complex. Steve Forbes served as the keynote speaker.
June 8, 2012 - Richard D. White Jr. named interim dean.
September 12, 2012 - LSU MPA Program kicks off year-long celebration of 40th anniversary.
November 10, 2012: College hosts inaugural Business College Bash as the Business Homecoming Bash.
April 1, 2014: Richard D. White Jr. begins tenure as eighth dean.
January 23, 2015: The Center for Internal Auditing celebrates its 30th anniversary.
March 11, 2015: The Energy Program, including energy minor and Flores MBA specialization in energy, is announced.
July 7, 2015: Jared Llorens is named director of the Public Administration Institute.
September 30, 2015: The Professional Sales Institute officially launches.
January 11, 2016: The LSU Division of Economic Development changes its name to the LSU Economics & Policy Research Group.
March 11, 2016: James Davis is named director of the Stephenson Entrepreneurship Institute.
April 29, 2016: The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) reaccredits the E. J. Ourso College of Business.
May 5, 2016: The Master of Science in Accounting changes its name to the Master of Accountancy (MAcc).
February 24, 2017 - The Board of Regents approves the establishment of the new bachelor of science in entrepreneurship, a paired-degree option that must be earned in conjunction with another bachelor's degree from any college on the LSU campus.
March 21, 2017 - The Department of Information Systems & Decision Sciences changes its name to the Stephenson Department of Entrepreneurship & Information Systems.
Contact Us
Untitled 2
Untitled 2
Untitled 3
FOLLOW THE OURSO COLLEGE: Facebook Twitter Issu documents Instagram LinkedIn
Copyright © 2015. All Rights Reserved. Official Webpage of LSU's E. J. Ourso College of Business
Business Education Complex · 501 South Quad Drive · Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-3211 · Fax: 225-578-5277
For directions to the Business Education Complex please refer to the directions page. · Provide Website Feedback · ·
Accessibility Statement